Home > Bust > The Lappetites – Before the Libretto

The Lappetites – Before the Libretto

Quecksilber Music, 2005

This one was a real mystery.  Well, aside from the tongues.  I deduced that there were four members in the band.  I, uh, had no idea what they were going to do, though.  There were no song titles on the back and, aside from a very pink color scheme, I couldn’t tell if this was going to be some kind of pop or rock.  The message on the back declaring that the Lappetites are “a forum, a meeting place, a concept within which to make and exchange new music via digital and sonic linking games …” had me scratching my head.  Okay, electronic music perhaps, but this could have gone anywhere… and it did.

The Lappetites consist of four ladies from various locations who are into electronic editing of music via laptop.  There’s a woman from Germany, another from Japan, as well as one from England and France.  A real nice mix of international backgrounds.  This record, as it turns out, is meant to be a beginning to end sort of artistic piece with visuals, but I had to kind of visualize things myself as I spun it.  Well, here’s my initial reaction ten seconds in:

Whaaaaaaaaaaaaat?  Wh … what is this?!  The first ‘song’ of “Tzungentwist” is just people speaking in what I think is Japanese and repeating some kind of word over and over.  Y’know, using my serious track title analysis skills, I bet they’re tongue twisters.  But no, this is not music.  Then the dooming sound of “My Within” piledrives my senses, mainly because my volume was rather high.  Nonsense yammering continues the song.  Folks, I have stumbled into a dreaded experimental CD.  This is not going to be good.

The title of “Avoiding Shopping” is great, but it’s really just a cacophony of screeching electronic notes that succeed in grating the silence.  Maybe it’s the conversion of my boredom senses when I have to lope around a department store while the wife looks at jewelery.  Hmmm … well, “Disaster” is aptly named as after two minutes of brooding tones it abruptly blips off into near silence with only a rather irritating light noise in its wake.  The tune does end up bringing back the moodiness, though it wasn’t as loud as I thought it was going to be.  Maybe it’s referring to a depressing disaster, like you are sitting on the edge of the bed thinking about what went terribly wrong.  Guys, I’m just trying to work with this right now.

Oh no no no, the chirping sounds on “Kuchen Keiki Cake” give me visions of microphoned mice chewing through paper while staggering backwards at bizarre speeds like in a horror movie.  “Aikokuka” is a vacuum cleaner in space that duets with a maniacal Japanese string instrumentalist.  There’s actually some singing in here too, but it’s the madness-inducing kind.  Gahhh I am hating my life right about now.  I want the CD to end!

“Prologue”, which shows up more than halfway through the album, is merely a pulse that is similar to a dial tone.  Ever listen to a dial tone for more than two minutes?  Uh huh.  Well, shockingly, the nearly eight minute “Funeral” could actually be deemed relaxing.  It’s mostly one long tone that has various levels of warmth which eventually degrades into a foreboding and deep depression.  I can’t believe it, I actually find a tune that is decent!  Of course, the Lappetites finish off the record with this sort of rave on track “Overture” that absolutely kills whatever zen was found from “Funeral”.  It sort of reignited my headache from this morning.  But hey … I made it.  I … finished … listening to the album.  Goodbye, Lappetites.

If you want your ears to go numb, give the Lappetites a listen by watching their video or listening to a few tunes on Last.fm.  Or, perhaps, you want to provoke a hostage taker to give up the hostage.  Maybe you want the North Koreans to suffer across the Demilitarized Zone.  Maybe you could use this to shoot up into space and scare off any aliens that are thinking of invading.  In that case, give the group a listen to see if you can use their music as a sonic weapon.

Okay, I should probably put a disclaimer on my blog stating that I am not likely to ‘get’ or enjoy experimental music.  Therefore, the Bust label is probably a given whenever I find one of these meandering records.  I would like to say I’m open minded but I just have never caught onto this kind of music, so perhaps I just need to find that wildly eclectic artist to help me catch on.  Zappa?  Zorn?  Jandek?  No idea.  If anyone wants to send a thought along to get me started please do.  As for the Lappetites, the ladies are still putting out music and hosting shows as of 2009.  Go check them out if you want an experience.  I, however, must send this frightening electronic and experimental doozy to the Golden Trash Can.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

