Home > Bargain > Black Kids – Partie Traumatic

Black Kids – Partie Traumatic

Almost Gold Recordings, 2008

Rarely does one find something in the dollar bin that those hipster kids really like these days.  You’ve got a simple yet noticeable band name, strange headwear, and the bubbly typeface that alerts the viewer that this is an indie band.  You can even hear the deep voice from a speaker far off calmly stating “Warning, warning, this band may try to overdo it with the dance rock that has over-saturated the market!”  Indeed, Black Kids fall into line in regards to what can easily be expected before the album is slotted in the discman.  As embarrassing as it may sound, I did put on my thick, black-rimmed glasses and tussle my hair a bits before I coolly slipped this onto the store counter to purchase for a buck.  I didn’t want anyone thinking that I wasn’t worthy of such a candied treat, but after I stole out of the store thinking my ruse had worked, I noticed I forgot to pop the collar of my polo shirt.  BLAST!

There’s two types of stereotypical indie music these days.  One type is to get all intricate and sensitive where the musicians try to turn you into emotional goo.  The other type prefers to act as if there is a party going on because they are the party.  This is what Black Kids try to do, for the first song off the record, “Hit the Heartbrakes”, is a rousing number about an obsessed ex who has decided to try and renew the relationship.  Hey, I’ve heard songs like that before.  However, this is the first one that infuses some nonsense into the narrative, like “call the ghost in your underwear”.  Mmm-hmm.  Despite some of the lyrics, what is incredibly enjoyable about this song is the back and forth between the monotone backup singers and the pained wailing of lead vocalist Reggie Youngblood.  The song also has a dance element to it, but there is a great interweaving of guitar solos, synthesizers, and quiet pauses that keeps it all fresh.  Essentially, the tune works.

The rest of the record takes it a little higher with the intensity of Youngblood’s vocals and the volume of the band. Nearly every song eventually jacks up the juice by halfway through, so it is quite apparent that Black Kids want you to make this your feel good album of some clubby evening. “Partie Traumatic” essentially details what life would be like if I ditched this 9-to-5 and went out every night to the socialite locales. You know, sharp clothes, smooth shaves, aloof attitude, uh, glitter. Good times with this one.  I also really enjoyed “I’ve Underestimated My Charm (Again)” not only for its fantastic, narcissistic title but for the fact that Youngblood just sings as if he’s full of himself and can’t be bothered to deal with yet another confused female.  It’s yet another song that I can envision scores of t-shirted and alt-hairstyled youngsters hopping up and down and doing who knows what with each other.  I can sorta envision me hopping around with them.  Okay, fine, you know what, this record sends me back a decade. I can’t find anything wrong with that or this album.

Reading around a little bit, I found out that apparently Black Kids had a decent deal of hype leading up to the release of this record based on their first EP. Hey, I totally missed it. See? Being unhip can have its advantages, at least in terms of musical bias. Therefore, I declare that this record is quite a bit of fun and I can certainly picture blasting it while cruising down some well lit city main street on some busy evening. I don’t care if Black Kids fall squarely into an indie stereotype; this was one of those rare modern records that made me want to listen to the entire thing multiple times. Oh yes, it gets the Golden Dollar many times over.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

