Archive

Archive for December 4, 2009

Dollar Bin Tragedies (or When I Cry in Public): Scratched Discs

December 4, 2009 2 comments

Yup, that about sums it up when I sift through some cheap cds, pick out some surprising stuff, and then find the cds to be beat up beyond belief.  They are as if someone has vengefully taken a knife to an album that they didn’t like on a particular day and then figured, hey, maybe someone still wants this!  So they give it to the nearby affordable goods store and think nothing of it.  They certainly don’t think of the poor sod who gets his or her hopes up that they scored quite a find.  This is me, see.  Usually when I get to a thrift store, (and not a music store, since they take better care of even their foulest castoffs) I am usually able to sort out at least 4 or 5 discs that look promising.  It is inevitable, however, that at least 2 of those discs are seriously banged up.  Unlike the person looking through an assortment of fine trousers or the other customer sifting through capable plate-ware, I’m the one emitting an emotional grunt of disdain in the corner of the room that makes people around me jump.  It’s a short, terrible feeling when you hold in your hands what could have been great quality listening but which is now a circular piece of unsellable crap.  Do you feel these pains too?  Come, wallow in pity with me for the following albums that I just recently found and then just had to lay to rest back into the dollar bin.

Read more…

