Home > Author blabber > The Huzzah Hits and the Multiple Misses

The Huzzah Hits and the Multiple Misses

hollaI don’t know about you, but I hate spending a lot of money on music.  I don’t mind the occasional $10+ on a new disc by a favorite artist or a classic, but usually albums need to be $6 or under if I’m going to part ways with the dollar bills.  Warily spending money this way allows me to pick up a couple albums instead of just one, which gives me a higher chance of success to actually enjoy an entire record.  In fact, the more albums I pick up the more I get this crazy idea that *all* of them will be spectacular in some way!  Too bad I’m usually wrong on this front.  However, I refuse to learn from my mistakes!  Quantity over quality is how I always rationalize things.

That said, you can imagine where I spend most of my time in music stores around the country.  The dollar bin is home to many forgotten artists who at one time some years back thought it would be a good idea to record an album expressing their talents.  As time has gone on and music critics have gone on and on, these bottom of the barrel records have been deemed drastically inferior to the surrounding slick sounds.  Nobody wants these, not even the record store.  Whether they’re stuffed in jumbled boxes under tables or piled in stacks away from the main path of traffic, the dusty dollar discs exist on the material goods chain just above sewage.  A store barely wants to hang onto these CDs and doubt they’ll sell at all, but if the discs started to smell like sewage they’d be out the door.  See what I mean?  The store might also want to check the pipes as well, but you get my point…

After acquiring quite a few of these exiled records, I wanted to see if I could provide a little pulse for some recordings long presumed dead.  By writing reviews on discs that are quite possibly getting one last look from the music-buying populace, perhaps I’ll cause a reader to take a chance on a disc if they see it in their travels.  Hey, for a dollar why not?  And if I already told you it’s terrible, great, I saved you a dollar!  You could then spend that dollar on another fetching dollar bin record that has the pile of skulls on the album art.

Although the trend of the music consumer is veering towards mp3s and fickle, one-spin opinions, I hope that this blog will not only inform but also persuade people to take more informative chances on whole albums instead of just songs.  Even if these artists have been completely denounced by taste experts or have given up music entirely, an album provides an experience that allows the listener to truly take part in the creativity and expression of the musicians at the time.  It’s worth picking up the complete package.  That, and wouldn’t it be cooler if you said you owned an album by the Screaming Headless Torsos?  The answer is yes.  Enjoy the blog.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

